Individual Awards - Awards for Procurement Professionals

Advancing the profession relies on the leadership of individuals and the commitment of organizations

Each year NIGP recognizes individual and agency members who have achieved hallmark status in the eyes of their peers.

Congratulations to the 2020 Winners

Albert H. Hall Memorial Award


Kenneth B. Koester, CPPO

Unified Purchasing Cooperative
Cincinnati, OH

The Albert H. Hall Memorial Award recognizes a former or present member who has made outstanding contributions to NIGP over an extended period of time. Persons receiving the Albert H. Hall Memorial Award also earn the designation of "Fellow of NIGP" or FNIGP.

Distinguished Service Award (DSA)

Richard Pennington

Richard Pennington, CPPO, J.D., LL.M.

Director (Retired)
Colorado Department of Personnel & Administration, Division of Finance and Procurement

The Distinguished Service Award is granted to public procurement officials and other individuals who differentiate themselves through first-rate contributions to public procurement.

Anne Deatherage Meritorious Service Award


Denise K. Schneider, CPPO, CPPB, C.P.M.

Assistant Director, Purchasing & Material Control
Greater Orlando Aviation Authority

The Anne Deatherage Meritorious Service Award recognizes current public procurement officials, retired or former public procurement officials, NIGP staff members, or other individuals in the private sector who have dedicated their career to advancing the public procurement profession. 

Manager of the Year



Terri Spencer, C.P.M.

Design & Construction Division Manager
Pima County, Tucson, AZ

The Manager of the Year Award recognizes public procurement professionals who have supervisory or management responsibilities. 

Buyer of the Year


Jason J. Steinmann

Granite School District
Salt Lake City, UT

The Buyer of the Year Award recognizes buyers who made significant contributions to the profession.

Diversity and Inclusion Award


Ella H. Pierce, CPPO, FNIGP, C.P.M.

City of Baltimore, Bureau of Purchases, MD

The Diversity and Inclusion Award recognizes trailblazers who broke the barriers of inequality and discrimination in their professional career. 

Integrity Award



Former Sr. Procurement Specialist
DeKalb County Government, Georgia

Leadership Award


Joan E. Graham, CPPO, CPPB
Executive Director
Kentucky Finance & Administration Cabinet, Office of Procurement Services

Volunteer Award


Drakus D. Wiggins, CPPO, CPPB
Contracting Officer
Office of Contracts, Washington DC Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Young Professional Award


Jenn Myers, CPPB
Principal Contract Officer
City of Tucson


Mandatory Criteria for ALL Awards:

Assessment is based on the nominee’s involvement at the Community, Agency, Chapter/Regional/National and Institute (NIGP) level.

  • Active Promoter in education and professional development
  • Supporter of public procurement organizations
  • Demonstrated Passion the public procurement profession and for the vision and mission of NIGP
  • Create and maintain high ethical and moralStandards, ethical and moral in accordance with NIGP Code of Ethics
  • Active in non-procurement community affairs
  • Public procurement Certifications
  • Endorsement letters in support of the nominee – Two letters are required plus the narrative in the nomination form

Past Award Winners Individuals

  • Albert H. Hall Memorial Award

  • Anne Deatherage Meritorius Service Award

  • Buyer of the Year Award

  • Manager of the Year

  • Distinguished Service Awards

  • Leadership Award

  • Young Professional Award

  • Volunteer Award

  • Integrity Award

  • NIGP President's Special Awards

  • MEASURE Up Award

  • NIGP Best Practices Award

  • Innovations in Public Procurement Award

Back to Top