Is your Procurement Department positioned to earn accreditation?

NIGP offers three accreditations to ensure that:

  1. Procurement is incorporating best practices into its operations (Accreditation for Quality Public Procurement Departments, formerly the OA4)
  2. Procurement interacts positively with and is responsive to all its stakeholders (Pareto Accreditation)
  3. The current and next generations of procurement professionals are being trained, not only in knowledge, skills, and best practices, but in the application of professional judgment, process and management improvement, and leadership (Academic Accreditation).

NIGP_QPPD Accreditation Logo_Dark Blue_300

1. Accreditation for Quality Public Procurement Departments (QPPD) (Formally the OA4)

The Accreditation for Quality Public Procurement Departments* (QPPD) is an online, value-driven self-assessment for Procurement Departments. During the application process, Procurement Departments identify the laws, i.e., codes, ordinances, regulations, statutes, that authorize Procurement to perform and delegate procurement activities. This is invaluable in providing support for your Procurement Department. Procurement Departments meeting the minimum requirements are QPPD-accredited for three years.

Once a Procurement Department has earned QPPD Accreditation, it is eligible and encouraged to apply for Pareto Accreditation. While the QPPD is a self-assessment that focuses on the Procurement Department, the Pareto requires an external verification and review of Procurement’s strategic and operational functions as well as its stakeholder interactions. This is a more rigorous evaluation, including narrative responses, documentation, and interviews with stakeholders to assess Procurement interaction and responsiveness

*Note: We are referring to “Procurement Departments” with the acknowledgement that each entity may use a different name such as Division or Unit.

QPPD (Formerly OA4) Information & Application

View Information

Apply Online

The application for the QPPD (Formally the OA4) is now available online. 

QPPD (formerly OA4) Accredited Procurement Departments


2. Pareto Accreditation

Pareto Accreditation is named after the founder of the 80/20 rule, and is the most prestigious and highest accreditation in our profession of Procurement’s achievement of a strategic role, position, and function within the entity.  Pareto Accreditation may be earned only by entities that have achieved QPPD accreditation and successfully completed a prescribed peer review process. Pareto Accreditation is not easily earned due to the rigors inherent to the review process.  Entities should allow four to six months to complete a Pareto Accreditation assessment.  


Pareto Accreditation Recipient

The PARETO Accreditation recognizes those agencies that lead the public procurement profession. Accreditation certification is valid for five years. The following agencies are currently accredited:

  • City of St. Petersburg
  • Sound Transit
  • Tampa International Airport, Hillsborough County Aviation Authority

NIGP_Academic Accreditation Logo_DarkBlue_300

3. Academic Accreditation


NIGP’s Academic Accreditation is for Public Procurement Certificate or Concentration Programs offered by Institutions of Higher Education.

Academic Accreditation reflects your Program’s alignment with public procurement values and NIGP’s core competencies. This ensures that today’s students can become tomorrow’s procurement professionals

Information about Accreditation

For complete information about NIGP’s accreditation program, please contact Lisa Frank at or call 703-736-8900, x226

Acceptance of submissions for QPPD, Pareto, and Academic Accreditations extends from September 1 through June 30

Back to Top